I finally finished the hanging wall shelves for the bedroom and they are great!

Hanging wall shelves

I originally saw these on My Home Ideas but I decided to make some adjustments. Theirs called for inserting small dowels under each shelf to hold it in place.

I opted to tie a knot under each shelf.

The knots made leveling the boards a little difficult, but all in all it took less than 20 minutes to hang and put them in place. I had a little assistance from Matt. He was pretty good at telling me if they were level or not. (The shelf is hanging at the foot of the bed so he had the perfect vantage point)

Hard at work

I had a hard time adjusting the shelves properly on the floor and found it was easier to hang the rope and then add each shelf one at a time. I secured a wall hook with anchors and draped the two ropes through it. The anchors were larger than the hook so I’ll have to go back and touch those up.

Wall hook

I also only used three boards instead of four. The spacing was too small between shelves with four boards.

Material list:

8′ 1×8″ – cut into 30″ sections (three sections)

24′ sisal rope (I used 3/4″)

1″ spade bit

Wall hook

Paint

Related links:

The Shabby Chic Cottage, Its So Very Cheri

