I got tired of the plain tool belts at the hardware stores and decided to sew one of my own. It was fairly simple to make, other than breaking about 5 needles on the sewing machine. I picked up some scrap fabric from Hancock Fabrics for about $3 and also belting cord and buckle for less than $5. The fabric is a thick outdoor fabric. It needs to be thick enough so that screws and nails won’t poke through it. All you need to do is make a few pouches with a slip pocket at the top so the belt can go through.

It isn’t quite finished because I need to pick up some heavy duty needles before I can complete the middle pocket, but I thought you would get the idea.

tool belt

Update: I finished the tool belt and it works fabulously!

Working in my tool belt

Related links:

Bargain Shopping Paradise, Someday Crafts

