It has been a slow week around the house with nothing to really post about. So, I thought I would take a little virtual trip to visit two of my favorite things, houses and beaches. Today we are going to Charleston, SC and the surrounding islands.


I love the lights in this picture, although they wouldn’t work in our house. They fit perfectly in this one. To see more pictures of this Isle of Palms House click here.

How beautiful is this house?

Just look at their outdoor entertainment area…

I’m not really loving most of the areas in this house, but I am drooling over this bedroom.

How about the view from this Kiawah Island home?

What more could you ask for?

and this one. The kitchen looks out to the ocean and golf course.

Well, after all of that I didn’t even find a dream house. I thought for sure I would get some great decorating ideas looking through all of the houses, but no luck. It is amazing to me that so many people with million dollar houses have absolutely decorating personality. I guess I’ll just stick with my favorite blogs (I read a lot of them). If you need inspiration you may want to check these out:

Remodelaholic, A Life’s Design, A Beach Cottage, Adventures in Renovating a Brooklyn Limestone, All Things Thrifty, Blueprint Bliss, Boogie Board Cottage, Bower Power, Completely Coastal, Cottage and Vine, Daily Vitamin Sea, Design DumpFireflies and Magnolias, From the Right Bank, Frugal Farmhouse Design, Funky Junk Interiors, Hooked on Houses, House of Turquoise, Daily Catch, It’s the Little Things, Just Beachy, Knock Off Wood, Life in the Fun Lane, Recaptured Charm, Red Door Home, Right at Home, Sawdust and Paper Scraps, Starter Home to Dream Home, The Brass Petal, The Flipping Couple, The Frugal Designer, The Lettered Cottage, Things That Inspire, Three Men and a Lady, Twice Remembered, Young House Love, Show and Tell

For those of you who are wondering how in the world I keep up with so many blogs the answer is Google reader. There are a lot of RSS feed readers out there, but I’m going to tell you (Mom) how to set up Google reader.

  1. go to www.google.com/reader
  2. Sign in with your google ID or create an account
  3. Click the add a subscription button on the upper left hand corner
  4. Enter the URL (eg., http://www.cottage38north.wordpress.com)
  5. Click the Add button
  6. To read all of the posts click the All items link on the left side
  7. You may be overwhelmed by the number of items appearing, you can click the “Mark all as Read” button on the top of the reader pane and it will just show any new posts after that time
