Alright, I’ll admit it. I was a little lazy with the post. I actually completed this project a week ago, but I felt a little guilty since I wasn’t very good about taking before pictures. I’m always so excited to get started on a project and realize halfway through when I’m almost finished that I didn’t take pictures. I was perusing Cottage Coast Store a few weeks back and I saw this beautiful wooden whale. I wanted it but I did not want to pay $65 for it. Besides, I figured I could probably make one. It would be worth a shot at least, right?

I went out to the garage and dug around for a scrap piece of wood. I found the perfect 1″ x 12″ that previously served as the shelf in the master closet. I’m not a great artist but I did manage to freehand the whale onto the board and cut it out with the jigsaw. 30 minutes later, this is what I had.

I already had a white base layer, so I added a coat of Behr Rain Washed blue and then I dry brushed a little Behr Surfer blue on top.

It found a home above our headboard for now. Please excuse the contrasting wall color. I have plans to repaint the bedroom a shade of white.

Matt suggested adding water droplets coming out of the blow hole and I love the idea. I’ve been contemplating how to do that for the last week and I think I have a solution. I don’t want to give too much away yet, but dowel rods are involved. Again, this will have to wait until we come back from vacation.

