It is finally finished. Here is the Pottery Barn Stratton inspired bed that we just completed.

The only thing left to do on it is make the dog bed for the end. The one you see is Major’s old bed. In hindsight, I would have shortened the overall height. Don’t worry though, I’ll explain exactly where in the tutorial below.

Materials:

  • 3 – sheets of 1/2″ MDF
  • 3 – 6′ 2x4s
  • 3 – 8′ 2x4s
  • 6 – 6′ 1x4s
  • 1 – 8′ 1x4s
  • Trim

NOTE: I allowed for a 2″ thick headboard to attach to the bed. If you are not using a headboard you may want to shorten the boxes.

  1. Cut MDF for top and bottom into 61″ x 21.5″
  2. Cut and attach 21.5″ lengths of 2×4 to the left, center, and right bottom of the MDF – this will elevate it off the ground the perfect distance to add the 1×4″ facing boards at the end (I know the picture shows two sections but that is only because I was using scrap 2x4s and didn’t want to waste anything. The other two boxes were done using 21.5″ sections)

  3. Cut and attach 14.5″ 2x4s to the MDF base (we used the Kreg jig for pocket holes) to the MDF in six places (front left, back left, front middle, back middle, front right, back right) Our 2x4s were cut to 17.5″ and if I were to do this again I would shorten it by 3″. I suggest you cut them to 14.5″

4.  Attach MDF board to the top (61″ x 21.5″)


    5.  Attach MDF panels to the inside walls of the compartments (21.5″ x 14.5″)

    6. Add 1×4 facing boards horizontally to top and bottom first and then vertically to left, middle, and right

    7. Add trim pieces (I used cove molding because it is the same width as the 1×4)

    8. Add beadboard for backing.

    I chose not to finish the ends on the two benches that would be used for the left and right side of the bed. I wanted the box at the foot of the bed to fit snugly up against them. However, the ends on the box for the foot had to be finished.

    Footboard box notes:

    • Make sure to account for added width of the boards you will be using on the ends. I had to cut the MDF down to 59.5″
    • Remember that whatever you add to the back will push the box away from the other two – I added trim pieces inside on the top and bottom and then used liquid nails to glue the beadboard to it. The beadboard was then flush with the edge of the MDF

    It really wasn’t hard to make. I apologize for not taking better pictures. Just remember to think through the concept before you make your cuts – especially on the footboard box.

    We attached the headboard using large L brackets

    If you are wondering what that stuff on the vent is, yes, it is duct tape. The bed was going to cover 1/2 of the vent and I didn't want to heat and cool under the bed. It is working like a charm.

    Bed with two boxes in place

    We didn’t want to use a boxspring with our mattress so we opted to add slats instead. I attached a 2×2″ to the back of the boxes for the slats to rest on. The slats are made from the left over MDF.

    The baskets are the the large Wicker Pole Handle Storage Baskets from the Basket Lady. The paint is Pottery Barn Decorators White from Benjamin Moore.

