Last Christmas, Matt & I were given a fire pit (thanks, Mom) and until recently we had no where to put it. Yes, we have a gigantic deck but neither of us felt comfortable putting it there. So, we devised a plan to build a small patio off the deck.

Here are a few of the before pictures…

And here is what our deck looks like now…

If anyone is in need of good patio chairs, those came from Garden Ridge. I waited (and waited) for them to go on sale, but finally just gave up and bought them at full price. They were only $24.99 each anyway, so in hindsight I probably should have bought them two months before I did.

We stained the deck with Benjamin Moore Arborcoat (Georgetown Gray, semi-solid). It definitely needs another coat on the deckboards because we were staining over the very dark red color. However, with temperatures headed towards winter already I think the second coat will have to wait until spring…especially since work on the kitchen has begun.

 

 

 

 

 

